State Health Council


The State Health Council serves as the North Dakota Department of Health's governing and advisory body. The council's 9 members are appointed by the governor for three-year terms. Four members are appointed from the health care provider community and five from the public sector.

The council establishes standards, rules and regulations which are found necessary for the maintenance of public health and monitors the quality of health care in North Dakota. 

Chair - Sherry Adams (Healthcare)

Vice Chair - Darrold Bertsch (Consumer) 

Secretary - Dr. Mark Strand (Consumer)


  • Daniel Churchill (Consumer)
  • Kevin Dauphinais (Consumer)
  • Mary Gumke (Consumer)
  • Dr. Missy Henke (Healthcare)
  • Dr. Carrie Ann Ranum (Healthcare) 
  • Senator Kristin Roers (Healthcare)

Messages or questions for any member of the State Health Council can be sent to Please indicate in your email which member the message is for.


State Health Council Meeting Minutes