North Dakota Critical Access / Acute Hospitals


ND currently has Critical Access Hospitals, General Acute Hospitals, Long Term Acute Care Hospitals, Psychiatric Hospitals, Rehab Hospitals, Indian Health Services Hospitals and Transplant Hospitals.  In addition to certification, ND also licenses hospitals as Primary Care or General Acute.

North Dakota Century Code and Administrative Rules


  • SFN 8001, Application for License to Operate a Hospital

Transplant Hospital

Transplant Hospital Regulations


42 CFR 489.20

42 CFR 489.24

State Operations Manual Appendix V

IPPS 2009 Final Rule Revisions


The Rural Health Information Hub (RHIhub) is the nation's rural health information source. The website offers an online library, coverage of rural issues, state guides, toolkits, program models, and more. RHIhub provides customized assistance by phone or email and is funded by the Federal Office of Rural Health Policy. For more information follow this link:

  • Rural Health Information Hub
  • The North Dakota Center for Rural Health, Critical Access Hospital (CAH) Quality Network supports ongoing performance improvement of North Dakota's CAHs.

  • CAH Quality Network Website
  • Quality Health Associates of North Dakota serves as a link between healthcare providers and the community.

  • Quality Health Associates of North Dakota Website

    The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services provides additional information on licensing and regulations of Critical Access Hospitals. 

  • Appendix W: Survey Protocol, Regulations and Interpretive Guidelines for CAH's and Swing Beds in CAH's
  • Appendix A: Survey Protocol, Regulations and Interpretive Guidelines for Hospitals
  • Appendix AA: Survey Procedures and Interpretive Guidelines for Psychiatric Hospitals
  • How To Report a Concern